Creating a new volume for Snapshot copies
retention
You need to create a new volume to retain more than 250 Snapshot copies.
Steps
Ensure that everything on the old volume is in an appropriate state.
Remove the SnapVault schedules for the old volume.
Create a new volume by doing one of the following steps:
Create a volume clone to a new volume.
Copy the appropriate Snapshot copy to a new volume.
Check or set the retention periods on the new volume.
Check volume options on the new volume.
Restart all SnapVault relationships in the new volume.
Reconfigure the SnapVault schedules in the new volume.
Ensure that everything was migrated successfully. To do this, run a few Snapshot copy targets in the new volume.
Stop all SnapVault relationships in the old volume.
Note: Free Snapshot copies
might be required to complete some operations. If you get an error message stating that the system has reached the Snapshot copy limit per volume, you need to find unnecessary Snapshot copies
and delete them.
Verifying the state of the old volume
Before creating a new volume for Snapshot copy retention, you need to ensure that all the files in the old volume are in the Idle and the Snapvaulted state.
Removing the SnapVault schedules for the old volume
Before you remove the schedules, make a note of the schedule configuration, including retention periods. Doing so enables you to set up the schedule in the same way on the new secondary volume.
Copying the appropriate Snapshot copy to a new volume
When you are creating a copy of a volume, the copy must be of the same type (flexible or traditional) and same compliance type (SnapLockCompliance or SnapLock Enterprise) as the old volume.
Checking or setting the retention periods on the new volume
Clone volumes and volume copies automatically inherit the retention periods from their parent volumes. For this reason, this step is usually a check. You can change the retention periods for the new volume.
Checking volume options on the new volume
Clone volumes and volume copies automatically inherit all options from their parent volumes. Before starting any SnapVault activity on the new volume, you should check the volume options on the new volume against the volume options on the old volume.
Restarting all SnapVault relationships in the new volume
The qtrees on the new volume are in the normal state, not in the Snapvaulted state (as you can see by using the qtree status command). You must restart the SnapVault relationships in the new volume.
Ensuring the migration of Snapshot copies
You should run a few Snapshot copy targets in the new volume to ensure that everything was migrated successfully. Then, after the first scheduled Snapshot copy and transfer have occurred, look at the entries in the new volume.