Table of ContentsLibraryView in Frames

What the privileged delete feature is

The privileged delete functionality of SnapLock allows a privileged user to delete a file that is otherwise immutable because of a retention policy. A privileged user should be part of the "Compliance Administrators group." A privileged user can delete a file irrespective of its retention period on a SnapLock Enterprise volume. This feature is available only on a SnapLock Enterprise volume . It is not available on a SnapLock Compliance volume. The delete operation is recorded in the SnapLock log file. All the privileged delete operations are logged in the configured SnapLock log volume. Therefore, the privileged delete feature is also known as "Auditable Delete."

When a privileged user deletes a WORM file, the event needs to be reliably logged for auditing and inspection later. The following SnapLock operations are logged in the SnapLock log volume:

In the SnapLock log file, you can find details related to the privileged deleted WORM file, such as whether a file has been deleted, when it was deleted, and who deleted the file.

The privileged delete feature is available only for SnapLock Enterprise volumes. This feature enables the compliance administrator to delete a WORM file that is retained on a SnapLock Enterprise volume. The delete operation deletes only the specified file. You can also use the privileged delete functionality on a WORM file that has infinite retention.

Note: You cannot use a privileged delete operation to delete a file that has exceeded its retention period.