As more and more data blocks in the aggregate are changed, the aggregate Snapshot reserve gradually becomes full. Because aggregate Snapshot copies usually do not need to be preserved for long periods of time (you usually need only the most recent aggregate Snapshot copy), Data ONTAP automatically deletes the oldest aggregate Snapshot copies to recover space in the aggregate Snapshot reserve.
When an aggregate Snapshot copy is automatically deleted, a message similar to this one is logged: Sun May 23 15:10:16 EST [wafl.snap.autoDelete:info]: Deleting snapshot ‘nightly.0’ in aggregate ‘aggr1’ to recover storage
In most cases you should leave automatic aggregate Snapshot copy deletion enabled. If this option is turned off for a particular aggregate, then every volume in that aggregate requires up to two times its size in order to satisfy a space guarantee of volume.
However, in some specific situations, you may need to disable automatic aggregate Snapshot copy deletion temporarily. For example, if one plex of a RAID SyncMirror aggregate has to be offline for some time, you would want to make sure that the SyncMirror-based Snapshot copy is not automatically deleted.