Table of ContentsLibraryView in Frames

Manually erasing software-based disk ownership information

If you are moving disks from a storage system using software-based disk ownership to a system that does not, and the target system is running a version of Data ONTAP earlier than 6.5.1, you should erase all software-based disk ownership information on the disks before moving them.

Steps

  1. At the prompt of the storage system whose disks you want to transfer, enter the following command to list all the storage system disks and their RAID status:aggr status -r
  2. Note the names of the disks you plan to transfer; you will erase the disk ownership information from these disks.

    In most cases (unless you plan to physically move an entire aggregate of disks to a new storage system), you should plan to transfer only disks listed as hot spare disks.

  3. Enter the following command to enter advanced privilege:priv set advanced
  4. For each disk that you want to remove, enter the following commands:disk remove_ownership disk_namedisk remove disk_name

    Note: You can use the wildcard character ("*") to specify multiple disks for the disk remove_ownership command.

  5. Enter the following command to return to administrative privilege:priv set
  6. Enter the following command to confirm the removal of the disk ownership information from the specified disk: disk show -v

    Any disk that is labeled “Not Owned” no longer contains disk ownership information and is ready to be moved to another storage system.