Table of ContentsLibraryView in Frames

Deleting Snapshot copies automatically

You can define and enable a policy for automatically deleting Snapshot copies.

Step

  1. Enter the following command: snap autodelete vol_name option value

    To define which Snapshot copies to delete, use the following options and their corresponding values in the snap autodelete command.

    Option Values
    commitment Specifies whether a Snapshot copy is linked to data protection utilities (SnapMirror or NDMPcopy) or data backing mechanisms (volume or LUN clones).
    • try—delete only Snapshot copies that are not linked to data protection utilities and data backing mechanisms.
    • disrupt—delete only Snapshot copies that are not linked to data backing mechanisms.
    • destroy—destroy only Snapshot copies locked because of data backing and data protection mechanisms.

      You can set this value for a volume with the snapshot-clone-dependency value set to on. An error message is returned if you set this option on a volume with the snapshot-clone-dependency option set to off.

    trigger Defines when to begin automatically deleting Snapshot copies.
    • volume—begin deleting Snapshot copies when the volume reaches the capacity threshold percentage and the space for volume snap reserve is exceeded.
    • snap_reserve—begin deleting Snapshot copies when the Snapshot reserve reaches the capacity threshold percentage.
    • space_reserve—begin deleting Snapshot copies when the space reserved in the volume reaches the capacity threshold percentage and the space for volume snap reserve is exceeded.
    Starting with Data ONTAP 7.3.1, the capacity threshold percentage is based on volume size as follows:
    • Volumes sized between 0 bytes to 20 GB will trigger at 85% capacity.
    • Volumes sized between 20 GB to 100 GB will trigger at 90% capacity.
    • Volumes sized between 100 GB to 500 GB will trigger at 92% capacity.
    • Volumes sized between 500 GB to 1 TB will trigger at 95% capacity.
    • Volumes sized 1 TB or larger will trigger at 98% capacity.
    target_free_space Determines when to stop deleting Snapshot copies. Specify a percentage. For example, if you specify 30, then Snapshot copies are deleted until 30 percent of the volume becomes free.
    delete_order
    • newest_first—delete the most recent Snapshot copies first.
    • oldest_first—delete the oldest Snapshot copies first.
    defer_delete Delete one of the following types of Snapshot copies last:
    • user_created—Snapshot copies that are not autoscheduled
    • prefix—Snapshot copies with the specified prefix_string
    prefix Delete Snapshot copies with a specific prefix last. You can specify up to 15 characters (for example, sv_snap_week). Use this option only if you specify prefix for the defer_delete option.
    destroy_list Destroy one of the following types of Snapshot copies. You can specify the following values:
    • lun_clone—allows destroying Snapshot copies locked due to LUN clones.
    • vol_clone—allows destroying Snapshot copies locked due to volume clones.
    • cifs_share—allows destroying Snapshot copies even if these Snapshot copies are locked due to CIFS shares.
    • none—is the default option. No locked Snapshot copies are destroyed.