How you remove a disk from your storage system depends how the disk is being used. By using the correct procedure, you can prevent unwanted AutoSupport notifications from being generated and ensure that the disk will function correctly if it is reused in another storage system.
Remember that if you are removing a disk because it has failed or because it is producing excessive error messages, you should not use the disk again in this or any other storage system.
If you are removing a spare disk, and you might use the disk in a storage system running an earlier version of Data ONTAP, be sure you erase the disk ownership information from the disk before removing it from the storage system.