You destroy an aggregate when you no longer need the data in that aggregate or when you have copied the content of the aggregate to another location.
When you destroy an aggregate, Data ONTAP converts its parity disks and all its data disks back into hot spares. You can then use the spares in other aggregates and other storage systems.
Attention: If you destroy an aggregate, the data in the aggregate is no longer accessible by normal access methods, unless you undestroy it before any of its disks are zeroed or reused in another aggregate.
Note: If you want to make the data in the aggregate inaccessible by any means, you can sanitize its disks.
Note: You cannot destroy a SnapLock Compliance aggregate until the retention periods for all data contained in it have expired. For more information about the SnapLock functionality, see the
Data ONTAP Data Protection Online Backup and Recovery Guide