The snap delete command displays ownership information for busy Snapshot copies.
This information is useful for determining why a particular Snapshot copy is busy, and whether to stop the activity in progress. For example, if the snap delete command output displays a locked Snapshot copy that is imposing a resource constraint, you can delete that Snapshot copy and free up space.
If a Snapshot copy is locked, the snap delete operation fails until you execute a snapmirror release or snapvault release command to unlock the Snapshot copy. Snapshot copies are locked because SnapMirror or SnapVault is maintaining these copies for the next update. Deleting a locked Snapshot copy would prevent SnapMirror or SnapVault from correctly replicating a file or volume as specified in the schedule you set up.
systemA> snap delete vol0 oldsnap Can't delete oldsnap: snapshot is in use by snapmirror. Use 'snapmirror destinations -s' to find out why. systemA> snapmirror destinations -s vol0 Path Destination /vol/vol0 systemB:vol0 systemA> snapmirror release vol0 systemB:vol0 systemA> snap delete vol0 oldsnap
systemA> snap delete vol0 oldsnap Can't delete oldsnap: snapshot is in use by snapvault. Use 'snapvault status -l' to find out why. systemA> snapvault status -l SnapVault client is ON. Source: systemA:/vol/vol0/qt3 Destination systemB:/vol/sv_vol/qt3... systemA> snapvault release /vol/vol0/qt3 systemB:/vol/sv_vol/qt3 systemA> snap delete vol0 oldsnap