In Data ONTAP 7.3.1, a user-configurable option provides an option to disable taking archival Snapshot copies at the end of the data transfer.
With archival Snapshot copies
disabled,
you can still rely on context-based block sharing to deduplicate blocks.
However, you cannot perform drag-and-drop restores. If you need the drag-and-drop functionality, you must enable this option for taking archival Snapshot copies.
This option is set to on, by default. You can set this option to off to disable taking archival
Snapshot copies.
However, after a DSU or volume stops taking archival
Snapshot copies, you cannot revert and set this option to on.
Note: The archival
Snapshot copies
are enabled, by default, on all new volumes. Because archival
Snapshot copies
cannot be re-enabled on a volume that contains
SnapVault for NetBackup
backups, you must plan the archival
Snapshot copies
when planning for the backup solution.