Table of ContentsLibraryView in Frames

General cautions for using SnapRestore

Before using SnapRestore, ensure that you understand the following facts.

  • SnapRestore overwrites all data in the file or volume. After you use SnapRestore to revert to a selected Snapshot copy, you cannot undo the reversion.
  • If you revert to a Snapshot copy created before a SnapMirror Snapshot copy, Data ONTAP can no longer perform an incremental update of the data using the snapmirror update command.

    However, if there is any common Snapshot copy (SnapMirror Snapshot copy or other Snapshot copy) between the SnapMirror source and SnapMirror destination, then you should use the snapmirror resync command to resynchronize the SnapMirror relationship.

    If there is no common Snapshot copy between the SnapMirror source and SnapMirror destination, the you should reinitialize the SnapMirror relationship.

  • Snapshot copy deletions are irrevocable. If you delete a Snapshot copy, you cannot recover the Snapshot copy by using SnapRestore.
  • After you revert a volume to a selected Snapshot copy, you lose all the Snapshot copies that were taken after the selected Snapshot copy.
  • Between the time you enter the snap restore command and the time when reversion is completed, Data ONTAP stops deleting and creating Snapshot copies.
  • If you are reverting a file from a Snapshot copy, you can delete other Snapshot copies, except for the Snapshot copy you are reverting from.
  • If you use the SnapRestore feature to restore a FlexClone from its base Snapshot copy, the space optimization relationship between the FlexClone and its parent is lost. For more information, see the Data ONTAP Storage Management Guide.