Table of ContentsLibraryView in Frames

How to resynchronize a broken SnapVault relationship

You can use the snapvault start -r command to reestablish a broken SnapVault relationship without a lengthy baseline transfer.

Typically, this command locates the most recent common Snapshot copy, discards any data written to the destination after that Snapshot copy, and begins to resynchronize content using the common Snapshot copy.

To support data integrity in a restrictive SnapLock Compliance environment, the snapvault start -r operation saves all data that was written after the common Snapshot copy to an image and log file in a directory on the volume. These files are then stored in the following directory on the SnapLock Compliance volume: /etc/logs/snapmirror_resync_archive/volname_UUID_qtree.

The image and log files are named dump_image_YYMMDD_HHMMSS and dump_log_YYMMDD_HHMMSS, respectively.
Note: The retention period for image and log files is equal to the longest retention period of any data file in the data set. This ensures that the image and log files are not be deleted before the retention period has passed.

If the save operation fails for any reason, the snapvault start -r transfer operation does not proceed.